Skip to main content

Swimming is a life skill as well as great exercise and a challenging sport. The Y offers swim lessons (for all ages), family swim, competitive swimming and diving teams, and many kinds of adaptive swim programs for kids with special needs, so we can all safely enjoy the pleasures of an aquatic environment.

A study from the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development has found that when kids between 1 and 4 take formal swimming lessons their risk of drowning decreases significantly. "It is recommended to find an instructor who is certified by a national swim program such as the American Red Cross's or the YMCA's." - Parenting Magazine August 2009

Pool & Swim lessons

To see the registration form and details, please click on the desired session.
Swim Lesson Sessions Program Dates Registration Dates City of Hickory
Registration Dates
No Classes Days Meet
Winter 1 Session Jan. 13th - Mar. 3rd Nov. 13th - Jan. 7th Not Participating February 11th Saturdays ONLY
Winter 2 Session Mar. 6th - Apr. 21st Jan. 15th - Mar. 4th Feb. 6th - Mar. 6th   Tues & Thurs
Saturdays ONLY
Spring Session Apr. 24th - Jun. 2rd Mar. 5th - Apr. 22nd Not Participating   Tues or Thurs
or Sat
Summer 1 Session Jun. 18th - Jun. 28th Apr. 23rd - Jun. 14th May 30th - Jun. 14th   Mon-Thurs
Summer 2 Session Jul. 9th - Jul. 18th Jun. 18th - Jul. 8th Jun. 18th - Jul. 7th   Mon-Thurs
Summer 3 Session Jul. 30th - Aug. 9th Jul. 9th - Jul. 29th Jul. 9th - Jul. 28th   Mon-Thurs
Fall 1 Session Sept. 4th – Oct. 13th Aug 13th – Sept. 2nd Not Participating September 3rd Tues or Thurs
or Sat
Fall 2 Session Oct. 16th - Dec. 15th Sept. 3rd - Oct. 14th Sept. 24th – Oct. 13th November 10th
November 24th
Tues or Thurs
or Sat
To see the registration form and details, please click on the desired session.
Swim Lesson Sessions Program Dates Registration Dates No Classes Days Meet
Winter 1 Session Jan. 8th - Mar 3rd Nov. 14th - Jan. 7th   Mon, Tues, Wed, Thurs, or Sat
Winter 2 Session Mar. 5th – Apr. 21st Jan. 16th - Feb. 26th   Mon, Tues, Wed, Thurs, or Sat
Spring Session Apr. 23rd – Jun. 2nd Mar. 5th – Apr. 22nd   Mon, Tues, Wed, Thurs, or Sat
Summer 1 Session Jun. 18th - Jun. 28th Apr. 24th - Jun. 15th   Mon-Thurs
Summer 2 Session Jul. 9th - Jul. 19th Jun. 19th - Jul. 9th   Mon-Thurs
Summer 3 Session Jul. 30th - Aug. 9th Jul. 9th - Jul. 29th   Mon-Thurs
Fall 1 Session Sept. 3rd – Oct. 13th Aug 13th – Sept. 2nd September 3rd Mon, Tues, Wed, Thurs, or Sat
Fall 2 Session Oct. 15th- Dec. 8th Sept. 3rd – Oct. 14th Nov. 19th – Nov. 25th Mon, Tues, Wed, Thurs, or Sat

Looking for Private Swimming Lessons?

  Download Hickory Foundation's Registration Form

Indoor Pool Operating Hours

Monday-Thursday: 5:00am-8:30pm

Friday: 5:00am-7:30pm

Saturday: 8:00am-4:30pm

Sunday: 1:00pm-4:30pm

The safety of our members and guests is very important to us! Please click here to read what flotation devices are permitted in our YMCA Pools

Looking for Family Swim or Lap Swim times? Click here for the Hickory Foundation YMCA Indoor Pool Schedule. Or here for the Adrian. Shuford, Jr. YMCA Pool Schedule.


Lifeguard Certification

 

Become a Professional Rescuer with certification training for Lifeguard, BLS (CPR Pro), First Aid and/or Emergency Oxygen. The YMCA of Catawba Valley offers certification classes throughout the year at both YMCA locations. Click on the desired session and location in the grid below for registration information.

Registration Dates Class Week Time
Registration Dates
Location Contact
Monday, January 20 - Sunday, February 18 Friday, March 9 Saturday, March 10 Sunday, March 11 5:00P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Hickory Foundation Branch C.O. Miller Teen Center Bobby Cavanaugh Hickory Branch [email protected]
Monday, March 5 - Sunday, March 19 Friday, April 6 Saturday, April 7 Sunday, April 8 5:00P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Hickory Foundation Branch C.O. Miller Teen Center Bobby Cavanaugh Hickory Branch [email protected]
Monday, March 5 - Sunday, April 1 Friday, April 20 Saturday, April 21 Sunday, April 22 5:00P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Adrian L. Shuford Jr. Branch Community Center Logan Taylor Shuford Branch [email protected]
Monday, April 2 - Sunday, April 15 Friday, May 4 Saturday, May 5 Sunday, May 6 5:00P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Hickory Foundation Branch C.O. Miller Teen Center Bobby Cavanaugh Hickory Branch [email protected]
Monday, April 2 - Sunday, May 6 Friday, May 18 Saturday, May 19 Sunday, May 20 5:00P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Adrian L. Shuford Jr. Branch Community Center Logan Taylor Shuford Branch [email protected]
Monday, May 7 - Sunday, May 22 Friday, June 1 Saturday, June 2 Sunday, June 3 5:00P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Hickory Foundation Branch C.O. Miller Teen Center Bobby Cavanaugh Hickory Branch [email protected]
Monday, May 7 - Sunday, May 29 Friday, June 8 Saturday, June 9 Sunday, June 10 5:00P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30Ph Adrian L. Shuford Jr. Branch Community Center Logan Taylor Shuford Branch [email protected]
Monday, May 30 - Sunday, June 10 Friday, June 25 Saturday, June 28 10:00A-4:30P Adrian L. Shuford Jr. Branch Community Center Logan Taylor Shuford Branch [email protected]
Monday, July 2 - Sunday, July 29 Friday, August 10 Saturday, August 11 Sunday, August 12 5:00P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Hickory Foundation Branch C.O. Miller Teen Center Bobby Cavanaugh Hickory Branch [email protected]
Monday, September 24 - Sunday, November 25 Friday, December 14 Saturday, December 15 Sunday, December 16 5:00P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Adrian L. Shuford Jr. Branch Community Center Logan Taylor Shuford Branch [email protected]

Direct Link: www.exchange.org


Master Adult Swim

The Master Adult Swim is for adults 18 years of age and older. This is for the experienced swimmer, and is available to help the swimmer improve stroke technique, endurance and speed.

Location: Hickory Foundation YMCA

  • Monday, Wednesday and Friday - 5:30-6:45am (Technique drills and workout sets)
  • Tuesday and Thursday - 6:30-7:30am (Technique, Teaching, Evaluation practices), 9:00-10:00am, 12:00-1:00pm (Technique drills and workout sets)
  • Saturday - 6:45-8:00am (Drill and longer swim sets)

For more information contact Rob Scott at (828)320-8620


YMCA Seahorse Swim Team

The Swim team is here for your child's next step in swimming progressions. From the novice swimmer to the national champion, YSST has a spot for you. The goal of the team is to maximize individual potential and to promote swimming in the community at all levels. A FREE two week trial is offered all year round to interested participants. Contact Head Coach, Jon Jolley or visit their website www.swimysst.com for more information.


Pool Parties

Let us Provide the Place and do some of the work for you! Reserve a date for a pool party or special event.

Indoor Pool Days and Times
Saturday: 1:30pm-3:30pm
Sunday: 1:30pm-3:30pm

Pricing Information
A person may rent the pool in two-hour blocks. The fee per block is as follows: Member / Non-Member
Indoor Pool Party $100.00 / $150.00
Outdoor Pool Party $125.00 / $175.00
Toddler Park Party $100.00 / $150.00
Only youth ages 11 and under are allowed on the island.

Number of Guests
Up to 20 guests are included. If the party is for children we only count the children as part of the 20 guests. Parties are encouraged to bring 4 or 5 adults to help supervise. If the party is adults then they count as part of the 20 guests. For parties with more than 20 guests there is a $2.00 per person additional fee.

Cancellations
The pool rental times are in great demand. Cancellations made more than one week prior to the rental date will be refunded 100% of the rental price. Cancellations made one week to 24 hours prior to the rental date will be refunded 50% of the rental price. Cancellations made within 24 hours prior to the rental time will not be refunded. There will be a $50 deposit to reserve party spot, which is applied to party total. Remaining amount is due the day of party

We offer many services to help better meet your needs and serve the community. Become a member of the Y today!

The YMCA of Catawba Valley is here to take care of all your needs. Please use the form below to let us know who you are and what you need help with and someone will be in contact with you within 24 hours.