Skip to main content

Swimming is a life skill as well as great exercise and a challenging sport. The Y offers swim lessons (for all ages), family swim, competitive swimming and diving teams, and many kinds of adaptive swim programs for kids with special needs, so we can all safely enjoy the pleasures of an aquatic environment.

A study from the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development has found that when kids between 1 and 4 take formal swimming lessons their risk of drowning decreases significantly. "It is recommended to find an instructor who is certified by a national swim program such as the American Red Cross's or the YMCA's." - Parenting Magazine August 2009

Swim lessons


Swim Lesson Sessions Program Dates Registration Dates City of Hickory
Registration Dates
No Classes
Winter 1 Session Jan. 14th - Feb. 25th Nov. 14th - Jan. 8th Not Participating February 11th
Winter 2 Session Feb. 28th - Apr. 15th Jan. 16th - Feb. 26th Feb. 6th - Feb. 25th  
Spring Session Apr. 18th - Jun. 3rd Mar. 6th - Apr. 16th TBD  
Summer 1 Session Jun. 19th - Jun. 29th Apr. 24th - Jun. 18th TBD  
Summer 2 Session Jul. 10th - Jul. 20th Jun. 19th - Jul. 9th TBD  
Summer 3 Session Jul. 24th - Aug. 3rd Jul. 10th - Jul. 23rd TBD  
Summer 4 Session Aug. 7th - Aug. 17th Jul. 24th - Aug. 6th TBD  
Fall 1 Session Aug. 29th - Oct. 21st Aug. 7th - Aug. 27th Not Participating  
Fall 2 Session Oct. 17th - Dec. 16th Sept. 4th - Oct. 15th TBD November 11th & 25th

Looking for Private Swimming Lessons?

  Download Hickory Foundation's Registration form

POOL schedules

Monday-Thursday: 5:00am-8:30pm

Friday: 5:00am-7:30pm

Saturday: 8:00am-4:30pm

Sunday: 1:00pm-4:30pm

Approved and Not Approved Flotation Devices

Please check here for the Indoor Pool Schedule.


lifeguard certification

 

Become a Professional Rescuer with certification in Lifeguarding, CPR and First Aid. The Hickory Foundation YMCA offers certification classes at various times throughout the year.

Registration Dates Class Week Time
Registration Dates
Location
Monday, January 2 - Sunday, February 19 Friday, March 10 Saturday, March 11 Sunday, March 12 5:30P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Hickory Foundation Branch C.O. Miller Teen Center
Monday, January 2 - Sunday, March 5 Friday, March 24 Saturday, March 25 Sunday, March 26 5:30P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Adrian L. Shuford Jr. Branch Community Center
Monday, March 6 - Sunday, March 19 Friday, April 7 Saturday, April 8 Sunday, April 9 5:30P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Hickory Foundation Branch C.O. Miller Teen Center
Monday, March 6 - Sunday, April 2 Friday, April 21 Saturday, April 22 Sunday, April 23 5:30P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Adrian L. Shuford Jr. Branch Community Center
Monday, April 3 - Sunday, April 16 Friday, May 5 Saturday, May 6 Sunday, May 7 5:30P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Hickory Foundation Branch C.O. Miller Teen Center
Monday, April 3 - Sunday, May 7 Friday, May 19 Saturday, May 20 Sunday, May 21 5:30P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Adrian L. Shuford Jr. Branch Community Center
Monday, May 8 - Sunday, May 22 Friday, June 2 Saturday, June 3 Sunday, June 4h 5:30P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30Ph Hickory Foundation Branch C.O. Miller Teen Center
Monday, May 8 - Sunday, May 29 Friday, June 9 Saturday, June 10 Sunday, June 11 5:30P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Adrian L. Shuford Jr. Branch Community Center
Monday, July 3 - Sunday, August 30 Friday, August 11 Saturday, August 12 Sunday, August 13 5:30P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Hickory Foundation Branch C.O. Miller Teen Center
Monday, September 25 - Sunday, October 29 Friday, November 17 Saturday, November18 Sunday, November 19 5:30P-8:30P 9:00A-4:30P 10:00A-4:30P Adrian L. Shuford Jr. Branch Community Center

 

2016 CPR/FIRSTAID Schedule

2016 Lifeguard Schedule

CPR.FA.O2 Trainings Registration Form


Master adult swim

Improve your swim technique, endurance and speed.

Hours:

  • Monday, Wednesday and Friday - 5:30-6:45am (Technique drills and workout sets)
  • Tuesday and Thursday - 6:30-7:30am (Technique, Teaching, Evaluation practices), 9:00-10:00am, 12:00-1:00pm (Technique drills and workout sets)
  • Saturday - 6:45-8:00am (Drill and longer swim sets)

For more information contact Rob Scott at (828)320-8620


ysst

The Swim team is here for your child's next step in swimming progressions. From the novice swimmer to the national champion, YSST has a spot for you. The goal of the team is to maximize individual potential and to promote swimming in the community at all levels. A FREE two week trial is offered all year round to interested participants. Contact Head Coach, Jon Jolley or visit their website www.swimysst.com for more information.


pool parties

Let us Provide the Place and do some of the work for you! Reserve a date for a pool party or special event.

Indoor Pool Days and Times
Saturday: 1:30pm-3:30pm
Sunday: 1:30pm-3:30pm

Pricing Information
A person may rent the pool in two-hour blocks. The fee per block is as follows: Member / Non-Member
Indoor Pool Party $100.00 / $150.00
Outdoor Pool Party $125.00 / $175.00
Toddler Park Party $100.00 / $150.00

Only youth ages 11 and under are allowed on the island.

Number of Guests
Up to 20 guests are included. If the party is for children we only count the children as part of the 20 guests. Parties are encouraged to bring 4 or 5 adults to help supervise. If the party is adults then they count as part of the 20 guests. For parties with more than 20 guests there is a $2.00 per person additional fee.

Cancellations
The pool rental times are in great demand. Cancellations made more than one week prior to the rental date will be refunded 100% of the rental price. Cancellations made one week to 24 hours prior to the rental date will be refunded 50% of the rental price. Cancellations made within 24 hours prior to the rental time will not be refunded. There will be a $50 deposit to reserve party spot, which is applied to party total. Remaining amount is due the day of party

We offer many services to help better meet your needs and serve the community. Become a member of the Y today!

The YMCA of Catawba Valley is here to take care of all your needs. Please use the form below to let us know who you are and what you need help with and someone will be in contact with you within 24 hours.